Visas and entry conditions in Afghanistan

Visa requirements *

Visa-exempt foreign nationals : Libya, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Seychelles, Tunisia.

Special passports:
- Holders of diplomatic passports or official passports issued by the following states are exempt from visa to visit Afghanistan: Albania, Benin, Brazil, Cuba, Egypt, Ethiopia, Greece, Guinea, Italy, Kuwait, Malta, Mexico, Niger, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela, Vietnam.
- Holders of diplomatic passports issued by the following states are exempt from visa to visit Afghanistan: Argentina, Croatia, France, Germany, Hungary, Nigeria, Sudan.

Note: a passenger who does not have Afghan identity papers (passport or identity card) is considered as a foreign passenger even if he / she has a multi-citizenship and must therefore be in possession of a visa .
How to obtain a visa ? *

Standard procedure in embassies: if you are not eligible for one of the visa exemptions listed above or if the visa you wish to obtain is a special visa (study visa, work visa, etc ...) you can go to the Afghan diplomatic representation closest to your home accompanied by the necessary documents. As an indication, the cost of a visa for less than 90 days for European citizens is €85.
Warning: remember to ask for your visa well in advance in order to be sure to have it on the day of your departure.

* Updated to 15 November 2017. The conditions for obtaining visas, their rates and the nationalities concerned change regularly according to the diplomatic news. Please check systematically what formalities you are subject to.
Temperature: 18°C
Partly Cloudy
Humidity: 49%
Wind: SW at 5km/h
Detail & forecast
Sun 19th May - PM

Log in
Contact us